Skip to main content.

Our Team

The whole is greater than the sum of the parts.

Our team is composed of individuals from diverse backgrounds ranging from the social sciences to technology to business to engineering. We strive to catalyze new collaborations across campus and systems in order to co-create simulations that transforms learning, collaboration, and care. It is by coming to the table together that we can generate new understandings of previously unsolvable problems and iteratively design solutions and systems that leverage the best of science, practice, technology, and innovation.

Please contact simulation@kumc.edu for more information.  

Director

Emily Diederich, MD, MS
Director

Email: ediederich@kumc.edu


ZIEL Staff

Becca Art
Simulation Technology Specialist

Email: bmart@kumc.edu


Mary Bifulco
Simulation Program Coordinator

Email: mbifulco@kumc.edu


Michael Blomquist, RN, CCRN
Learning and Design Strategist

Email: mblomquist@kumc.edu


Michelle Bolen, RN
Learning and Design Strategist

Email: Mbolen@kumc.edu


Julie Broski, Ph.D.
Assistant Director of Simulation Research

Email: jbroski@kumc.edu


Liz Carlton, RN, MSN, CCRN
Associate Director

Email: lcarlton@kumc.edu


Colton Crook
Simulation Technology Specialist

Email: ccrook2@kumc.edu


Angie Diederich
Director of User Experience and Design

Email: adiederich3@kumc.edu


Krista Eckels
Assessment and Outcomes Data Specialist

Email: keckels@kumc.edu


Amy Follmer
Simulation Technology Strategist

Email: a357f308@kumc.edu


Kent Garrett
Simulation Operations Technologist

Email: kgarrett2@kumc.edu


Laurie Gogol, MSN, RNC-OB, BC-AMB
Learning and Design Strategist

Email: lhaney2@kumc.edu


Amber Kollasch, MSN, RN, CCRN
Learning and Design Strategist

Email: anerdig@kumc.edu


Akiko Kubo, MBA, BSN, RN
Director of Strategy and Design

Email: akubo@kumc.edu


JT Lincoln
Design Coordinator

Email: j340l492@kumc.edu


Heather Rafferty
Simulation Technology Specialist

Email: hrafferty@kumc.edu


Sarah Rucker
Simulation Operations Manager

Email: srucker2@kumc.edu


Tiffany Sauser
Simulation Coordinator

Email: tsauser@kumc.edu


Stephanie Swanson
Director of Systems Integration

Email: sswanson4@kumc.edu


Stephen Tarver, MD
Associate Director

Email: starver@kumc.edu


Rose Traul
Simulation Technology Specialist

Email: rtraul@kumc.edu


Bridget Van Gotten, BSN, RN, CCRN
Learning and Design Strategist

Email: bvangott@kumc.edu


Valerie Van Hoecke
Simulation Operations Coordinator

Email: vvanhoecke@kumc.edu


Bob Vega
Simulation Technology Specialist

Email: rvega2@kumc.edu


Scott Voss, MBA
Business Operations Manager

Email: svoss@kumc.edu


Joseph Waterson
Simulation Operations Technologist

Email: jwaterson@kumc.edu


Amy Wolverton, MSN, RN
Learning and Design Strategist

Email: akelley@kumc.edu


Zamierowski Institute for Experiential Learning (ZIEL)

Sudler Simulation Center
Ground Floor of Sudler Hall

ZIEL at the Health Education Building 
Simulation Hospital - 4th Floor
Practice Laboratory and Home Environment - 5th Floor

913-588-7375
simulation@kumc.edu